Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Jojo's new adventures in Myanmar
23 novembre 2012

Yangon 13-14 Nov

Yangon 13-14 nov

 

It was amazing to fly into Yangon as we could see the whole countryside with golden stupa scattered everywhere. Found a couch with CS, had to wait for the guy, Sushi from Japan, (yes that was his name!) in a 5 stars hotel. Was nice but felt really out of place with my backpack and my dirty trainers! Then he said we were going for dinner, but actually left me by myself having dinner while he went to see a friend. He then picked me up an hour later and we went to his place. Slept on a faux leather sofa which is the worst when there is no air con, with the sweat I just got stuck to the sofa the whole night, was a nightmare!

 As he couldn't host me the following night, went to a guesthouse and was happy to do so.

 After breakfast and a shower well deserved, I hit the town and went to visit the Shwedagon Pagoda , which is the biggest one in Myanmar.

 Met a local who was learning English in a city bus, he was really sweet and wanted to practice his English. He even insisted in paying my bus fare! Then he took me to the market, which was full of amazing fabric... will defo go back there on the way back to buy some more, to make some wicked puffy trousers!

 I then wondered around town, it's amazing how it feels like India!! I would say a mix between Cambodia (for the run down buildings) and the craziness and dirtiness of the streets. Plus, on the top of that it is actually packed with Indians.

 Tomorrow I'm taking a train to the Golden rock...looking forward to spend this journey in the train (I do love trains) even thought it actually takes longer than the bus!

 

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Pages
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 1 097
Publicité