Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Jojo's new adventures in Myanmar
5 décembre 2012

Boat

Boat journey

The boat journey really reminded me of the ones on the amazon, in South America. Same kind of boat, same atmosphere, same kind of vendors coming  in and out, same kind of scenery apart that there were pagodas on the shore evry now and again. People here don't have hammocks but sleep on the floor which is much more uncomfortable. Everybody has a number. A space is about 60cm wide, foreigners get 2 spaces, whcih was a good thing as my bag was taking a whole one anyway.I could have taken a cabin... but I wouldnt have had the same amazing experiences.

Everybody here looked after me, making sure I had enough room and that I was comfortable. they kept offering me pillows and blankets. some started giving me some foood. I 1st i refused as I was really full (just had lunch), but it looked good and I felt bad refusing. So I said i'll have "nene" (a little bit), it was delicious. Showed them I really liked it and everybody seemed so pleased they all started to offer me some of what they had. Couldn't accept some and refuse others, so I just tried everything and it was some of the best food I had in my whole trip in Myanmar.

In exchange, I gave them a bit of what I had.

Believe it or not, the only thing that bothered me was a monk. He kept talking to me (in Burmese) and asking me for things. Since they live on donation, gave him some food too, but it didn't want my oranges, he wanted my cake, he didn't want my half full bottle of water, he wanted the full one.... The girls with who I was sitting told me to pretend sleeping and that he will leave me alone. So I did,

But he kept toucjing me to wake me up. Weren't monks not allowed to touch or be touched by women?

After a while one of the girl started shouting at him, I guess she was telling him to leave me alone, which he did.

We shared more food with the girls and I felt part of their group. When I asked where the toilets were...they decided to all come with me!

Actually there was another problem, same as in South america...the bugs! Atracted by the light. I was just under it and seemd to be their target. I did not like that. I jumped in my sleeping bag, but got far too hot. Luckily I had my silk sleeping bag which was much better. 

Matt got me that freestanding mosquito net, thought of using it, but struggled putting it up ince I tried and actually failed, so I didn't want to look like a spastci foreugner with my technology taht doesnt work in front of them. I decided to put on with the bugs.

The monk went to sleep. The women were still talking. The men were playing cards, gambling.

No bars here like in South america. No shower or people brushing their teeth. I guess the journey wasn't long enoug..."only" 20h.

The heat and the bugs stop me from sleeping for a while but i finally managed to fall asleep and actually missed the sunrise I was planning to see. i was well annoyed. When I opened one eye, I could already see people staring at me with excitment "she's waking up" i felt them saying. And as soon as I sat up with my puffy eyes, I saw 40 people staring... not the best feeling first thing in the morning. Put my sunglasses on, to kind of protect myself from that intensive look whch I found obtrusive so early in the morning.

then they put their Tanaka (make up) on me and were ready to feed me again. I felt like a barbie doll they were playing with, for a bit...But there weren't THAT intrusive, they knew when to leave me alone too, which was good. Played for a while with the kids, making them paper planes and stuff. Tried to have a converstaion with a teenager who was practicsing his english and insisted on giving me a picture of his son (yes he had a son), which I thought was rather strange,

Arrived in Yangon at 1pm ,went straight to the guest house I first stayed at as I left a bag ther and decided to spend the night there instead of couchsurfing. bit of shopping, eating last buremese food, pagoda watching, experiences sharing with other travellers and I was ready for bed.

I landed in Bangkok, a yellow bangkok. As i went into the skytrain, i noticed loads of people wearing a yellow top. Was it a coincidence? where they people in the same work uniform finidhing work? Then I remembered it was the King's birthday, asked if it was the reason why people were wearing yellow and BINGO!

Same as in Yangon, went back to the same hotel, shopping, virus sorting out as well as camera cleaning!, eating thai food and putting pics on the blog. Went for dinner to Baptiste, a friend of Helene and had some wine!!! I forgot how good it was!!!! 3 weeks without drinking, well done me!

Now in 3h30 I will be waking up, ready to take my train to the border with Cambodia. My bags are ridiculously heavy and I am dreading the journey.

Cambodia, here I come!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Pages
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 1 097
Publicité