Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Jojo's new adventures in Myanmar
2 décembre 2012

Last day on the beach

Last day on the beach

 

Well the sun didn't last long but still managed to get a bit of a sunburn, even with factor 30 suncream on!!

Anyway as it's started to be cloudy I went for lunch in the village and found out there was a posh hotel with wifi. So I went there and pretended to be posh, which didn't work that well as I ordered the cheapest drink on the menu and stayed 5h! Ha!

The problem wasn't even sorted and I had to go back in torrential rain on a mototaxi which didn't have any lights. It was pitch black, dunno I he was doing but suddenly realised I had my headtorch with me, which made the ride back much safer.

 

This morning, I met 2 Spanish guys who told me they were going back to Yangon, by boat. First you've got to go to Panthein, then there is a boat taking 15h through rivers, you can have a cabin ($40) or sleep on the floor ($8). Defo having the floor as it will be full of locals too. I'm so happy they told me that as wasn't really sure about when to go back, wasn't really happy with the bus situation... the times. Now it's perfect, got to stay one more morning on the beach, take the boat round 5pm, spend the night there (save me a hotel room) and arrive in the morning in Yangon for a whole day. Arriving round 10 so will have a few hours of day light, so I can enjoy the scenery a bit and I will arrive close to downtown which is much better than the bus station. It couldn't be more perfect!

And on the top of that, would have done in Myanmar: bus, train, moto, car, bicycle, horse cart and finally boat...

Otherwise something strange happened during the night... I guess I had a visitor. Left a kind of candy (shredded coconut in some kind of hard toffee – sugar) on the table wrapped in some tissue. Found the tissue in the morning, on the floor, empty. Tatata... After a little investigation, looking out for clues and wondering if I was going mad and may be ate it during the night without remembering... I found, which I guess are mice poos, which will explain the mystery.

 

 

 

I had my usual swim, breakfast, chill out. Then wanted to hire a bicycle. The hotel didn't have any, I had to walk 30 min to the village (which was why I wanted a bike). As I came out passed a few shops and asked them if they had any bike. Hahahaha! That serve me right, they went to dig out a rusty old one, which was probably a child's one. It was tiny. But straight away they went to fix it for me and ended up being proud of their achievement. I couldn't refuse it. Took it. The pedals were going all funny, my knees were nearly touching the handle bar, it was squeaking so much everybody was staring (or were they staring at the tall gringa on a tiny shitty bike?) and the breaks didn't work, obviously. Probably the worst bike I ever used, but so much fun in that situation.

 

 

 

I went back to the posh hotel to play with my virus again, but this time felt bad and ordered a curry, which wasn't actually that expensive considering the place. It was huge and yummy, well worth it!

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
P
Quite strange these two little pagodas on the rocks.. but is"s difficult to imagine the scale of them. A nice place to make pictures. But it's more important to see your travel on boat , with nice people. Enjoyable, you are lucky. Keep going, with your effective photographs. Lots of love xxxx
P
you have been walking too! keep going . no doubt you are enjoying the contact with the burmese people, a nice experience. lots of kisses<br /> <br /> xxx
Publicité
Pages
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 1 097
Publicité